2018 marked the 5th Anniversary of our writing contest.

Contestants compete in three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Nonfiction. This year we received a total of 96 entries from contestants as far away as Ontario and Montana, USA and of course, from BC.

A special thank you to our judges: Shelley Corbin, Scott Fitzgerald Gray and Deanna Kawatski. Their thoughtful consideration of the entries is much appreciated. Please note, our judges read each entry without knowing who wrote it. In this way, we guarantee the judges’ impartiality.

This year’s winners are:

Poetry Fiction Nonfiction
First Place Chelsea Comeau Faye Arcand Susan Ross
Second Place Jaki Sawyer Janice Wilson Christina Myers
Honourable Mention Sheila Ricciardi Laura Slauson Peter Robin


Shuswap Association of Writers wishes to thank Askew’s foods for their continued generous support for this contest.
Winners will be acknowledged at the Saturday Night Banquet. Copies of the Askew’s Foods Word on the Lake Anthology of Winners is available for purchase at the book tables and at the Banquet.